Rachel H
£40 per hour

French with Rachel H

Patient, caring and creative

I have always enjoyed learning languages. I studied French, English and Spanish to A level along with History and General Studies. I went on to study French at Manchester University where I also enjoyed the challenge of learning Russian from scratch. This was to come in very handy when I later worked in Poland.

I have been teaching for 30 years. During this time I have taught English as a foreign language to young students and adults in a total of 7 countries. In the UK, I have taught in a number of mixed comprehensive schools, teaching French and Spanish at Key stages 3 and 4. This has given me extensive experience of working with age groups from 11 to 16, a working knowledge of many coursebooks and exam syllabi
I enjoy teaching whole classes as well as small groups , which i have experience of through revision clubs and culture clubs. I particularly like the challenge of making subject matter engaging and seeing the pupils progress. I firmly believe in the importance of enabling pupils to think for themselves and get actively involved in their learning.

On a personal level, I enjoy running, reading, cinema and cooking. I also play the piano and the ukelele.

Rachel's Badges

Profile Views
6
Recent views

Qualifications

Institute of Linguists
Spanish Advanced level
Birmingham Polytechnic
PGCE in Modern Foreign languages and TESOL
Manchester University
French with Russian

Common Entrance 7+, 8+, 11+ and 13+ subjects

French

Rachel H
£40 per hour