English Language with Yaara A

Thorough and hardworking

Throughout my life I have moved all around the world, never staying more than a few years at any one place. I have lived in 5 different countries and have attended 10 different schools, making me an individual capable of adapting to different environments and people efficiently and with relative ease. In addition it gives me a better insight into various types of teaching and learning methods. I believe that academia has always been my strong pursuit and most definitely the aspect of my life I have always strived to excel in. I am trilingual (Hebrew, Danish and English). I attended King Edward's School, Bath in the last 4 years of my education. I have 13 A*s at GCSE and iGCSE. I have 6 As at AS level (English Literature, maths, further maths, physics, chemistry, ancient hebrew). I have 5A*s at A-level (chemistry, maths, English literature, ancient hebrew and physics). I am currently in my third year of my joint honours degree of Chemistry & Mathematics at UCL. I have achieved a 1st in my first year and in my second year.

Current roles:
Student Representative: one of two elected representatives from the year group.
1st year chemistry academic mentor: I have been selected to act as a student mentor, running weekly academic support groups for the new first year students. This can either be one-on-one sessions or in small groups.
Outside of academia: university athletics and skiing team, singing and drama classes
Extra Curriculum: I am a student helper at the Institute of Cancer Research (ICR) laboratories in London.

Some extra experience:
-Jack Taylor School, London (for children with special needs): I volunteered at the school once a week, supporting the teacher in the classroom by working with the children in small groups. Particularly focusing on numeracy, reading and writing.
-Margaret Coates centre, Bath (for children with Autism): I spent an afternoon a week working as a TA, providing extra support to students in either small groups or one-on-one. The primary focus was maths, languages and science.
-Save a Child's Heart, Israel: I was a teaching volunteer for a couple of months in a charity that treats children from across the world with congenital heart diseases. Whilst the children receive treatment in Israel, the volunteers act as their teachers, running classes and lesson in a school format.
-CSIA Skiing instructor: despite the non academic nature of this role, working as a ski instructor during the winter enables to me execute important teaching skills as well as work on my communicating ability.
-I have done some more traditional one-on-one tutoring as well, primarily at GCSE and primary school level.

Yaara's Badges

Profile Views
447
Recent views

Qualifications

University College London
MSci Chemistry & Mathematics (year 2)
King Edward's School, Bath
GCSE, iGCSE, AS level, A level

GCSE & iGCSE subjects

GCSE Homework Support, English Language, English Literature, Hebrew, Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Maths, Physical Education